Hans Wittenberg Prize

At the celebration of the 50th anniversary of the Dutch Aerospace Engineering Association (NVvL), the board established a prize for the best graduation thesis by students at the TU Delft, Faculty of Aerospace Engineering,  to students of the InHolland University of Applied Sciences, Aerospace Engineering course. and students at Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences, Aviation Studies.

On the occasion of the celebration of the 75th anniversary of the NVvL in November 2016, the NVvL board decided to change the name of

Hans Wittenberg

to be linked to the prize.

Professor Hans Wittenberg was professor at TU Delft from 1961-1991. From 1959 to 1975 he was a board member of the NVvL, the last 11 years of which as chairman. He passed away in 2003.

He fulfilled various important roles in involving the NVvL in the International Council of the Aeronautical Sciences (ICAS) (1972-1988) and in the European Rotorcraft Forum (ERF), of which he chaired during three Forum conferences held in the Netherlands.

He showed his broad interest in, and great involvement in, and stimulation of aviation research and education by, among other things, giving many highly diverse lectures for members of the NVvL and for symposium visitors, as well as through the large number of publications he has written. His sympathetic way of working and great accessibility have stimulated and motivated many who came into contact with him.

With the naming of this award, Hans Wittenberg is honored by the NVvL for his continuous efforts to promote aviation and for his outstanding services to the NVvL.

The NVvL Hans Wittenberg Prize is awarded to the best aviation graduation report from the Faculty of Aerospace Engineering, InHolland University of Applied Sciences, Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences and the Netherlands Defense Academy.

The selection of the best aviation graduation report is made per university/university of applied sciences by a jury appointed per university/university of applied sciences. The award is presented annually by the chairman of the NVvL during the annual Aviation Symposium of the Aerospace Engineering Study Association VSV Leonardo de Vinci. The prize consists of an amount of 1000 Euro and a Certificate.


Professor Hans Wittenberg